Uploaded image for project: 'Minecraft: Java Edition'
  1. Minecraft: Java Edition
  2. MC-96521

After clicking "Delete World", hardcore world still runs in background

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Resolved
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: Minecraft 16w05a, Minecraft 16w05b, Minecraft 16w07a, Minecraft 1.9 Pre-Release 1, Minecraft 1.9 Pre-Release 2, Minecraft 1.9 Pre-Release 3, Minecraft 1.9 Pre-Release 4, Minecraft 1.9, Minecraft 1.9.1, Minecraft 1.9.2, Minecraft 16w14a, Minecraft 16w15a, Minecraft 1.9.4, Minecraft 16w20a, Minecraft 1.10.2, Minecraft 1.11, Minecraft 1.12.2, Minecraft 18w07c, Minecraft 1.13-pre2, Minecraft 1.13-pre8, Minecraft 18w31a, Minecraft 1.13.1, Minecraft 1.14.2, Minecraft 1.14.3, 1.14.4
    • Fix Version/s: 19w35a
    • Labels:
      None
    • Confirmation Status:
      Confirmed
    • Category:
      Crash

      Description

      The bug

      While testing MC-30646 "Hardcore game is not deleted" I found what may be another manifestation of the same bug, or maybe a new bug (perhaps related to MC-526 "Worlds will not delete").

      Not only does a hardcore world not delete with the hardcore death screen deletion button (MC-30646), but additionally the world continues to run behind the UI. You get dropped to the title screen, but can hear the game sounds and music. You can also see the world still running on a second deletion confirmation screen. And even after the apparently successful second deletion action, the world is still not deleted.

      How to reproduce

      1. Create singleplayer hardcore world
      2. Die in your hardcore world
      3. Choose "Delete world" on the death screen (not "Spectate world")
      4. Get dropped back to title screen
        → Notice the game sounds continue, as if your world is still running
      5. Choose singleplayer and view list of worlds
        → Observe that the hardcore world is not deleted, as per MC-30646
      6. Highlight hardcore world and choose delete
      7. On confirmation screen ("forever is a long time!"), confirm deletion
        → Notice that you can see your world still running in the background here, as well as hear it. Instead of the expected dirt texture background
      8. Get dropped back to singleplayer world list
        → Observe that hardcore world is not on the list, indicating (apparently) that it was deleted successfully.
      9. Hit escape (don't click the cancel button with mouse cursor)

      Expected result

      Go to title screen. Hardcore world remains deleted.

      Actual result

      Get kicked back into your hardcore world, facing once again the choice to delete or spectate. The first time I arrived here, I chose to spectate and my world was full of chunks that wouldn't load, and the game crashed with a memory overflow shortly, indicating maybe some part of the deletion was successful. On subsequent attempts, spectator mode worked fine, with no crashes, in the supposedly deleted world. Hitting delete at this screen will repeat the loop without deleting the world.
      Note that hitting the escape key on the world select screen should probably behave the same as clicking the cancel button. That they behave differently may be another bug.

      Note

      Code analysis can be found in this comment

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Assignee:
                boq [Mojang] Bartosz Bok
                Reporter:
                ziggurism ziggurism
              • Votes:
                24 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                17 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:
                  CHK: