The message "reset scores of player" puts a percent sign in front of the player name.
/scoreboard objectives add test dummy
/scoreboard players set blah test 1
/scoreboard players reset blah
Reset all scores for blah
Reset scores of player %blah
The same issue occurs when resetting a specific objective