Uploaded image for project: 'Minecraft: Java Edition'
  1. Minecraft: Java Edition
  2. MC-697

Default singleplayer player data is always used for players opening world

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Reopened
    • Resolution: Unresolved
    • Affects Version/s: Minecraft 1.4.2, Minecraft 1.4.6, Minecraft 1.7.4, Minecraft 14w05b, Minecraft 14w06b, Minecraft 14w07a, Minecraft 14w08a, Minecraft 1.7.10, Minecraft 14w32d, Minecraft 1.8.1-pre3, Minecraft 1.9.4, Minecraft 1.10, Minecraft 1.10.1, Minecraft 1.10.2, Minecraft 1.11.2, Minecraft 1.12.1, Minecraft 1.12.2, Minecraft 1.13-pre6, Minecraft 18w30b, Minecraft 1.13.2, Minecraft 1.14 Pre-Release 2, Minecraft 1.14 Pre-Release 3, Minecraft 1.14 Pre-Release 4, Minecraft 1.14 Pre-Release 5
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Confirmation Status:
      Confirmed
    • Category:
      (Unassigned)

      Description

      The bug

      For singleplayer worlds the player data is written to the level.dat file as well (called "default player data" in the following) and always used when someone opens the world. This creates the following two unwanted situations.

      Cannot start with empty inventory in a world of someone else

      Because the default player data is always used you cannot play in the world of someone else with new player data but instead start where the player who last played left and have the same items.

      Default player data is used even if player data exists after playing in LAN

      When you played in LAN before and an entry in the playerdata folder exists for a player the default player data is used anyways.
      Imagine the following: Player 1 hosted the world and player 2 joined. After that player 2 opens the world, even though a player data entry exists he gets player 1's player data (=default player data) which even overwrites player 2's player data entry when he leaves the world.

      Suggested solution

      See this reddit post.

      Workaround

      Keep in mind that this is a bug tracker and not a discussion forum or a help desk. For questions, ask for example on reddit, the Minecraft Forum, or on other platforms.

      Create a backup of your world before trying the following workaround. Otherwise you might loose data or your world can become corrupted.

      The following steps require an NBT editor. Make sure it is up to date and supports changes to NBT structure introduced in the latest versions. You can use for example NBTExplorer version 2.8.0(+).

      1. Open the level.dat file of the world with an NBT editor
      2. Delete the Data > Player entry
      3. Save the file

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Assignee:
                Unassigned
                Reporter:
                nauxk Nathan Fielder
              • Votes:
                25 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                13 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  CHK: