Each time after typing /gamemode 2 all recipes are removed.
Clearing recipes would be a problem on puzzle or adventure maps. Mapmakers usually want players to use gamemode 2 but sometimes player changes temporarily gamemode to creative (e.g. accidentally lost required item). When player changes gamemode to 1, fixes that thing and returns to gamemode 2, then all progress is reset. There's currently no way to prevent this.